How to make a pumpkin pie that pumpkin-haters will eat

This isn’t a cooking blog. I’m really not that into cooking. When I do it, I can usually see moderate to decent levels of success, but I’m just not a creative cook and it’s never been up my alley. However, I love to bake, because not only are there sweet and delicious goodies available throughout the process, there is usually a strict set of guidelines and instructions to follow that cannot be screwed up unless you’re using old ingredients or you forget to turn the oven off because you’re too busy keeping up with the Kardashians. Well, that was your first mistake.

It’s Canadian Thanksgiving today. Why do we have this holiday several weeks before our southern counterparts? Apparently we’re not celebrating the pilgrimage, but rather ‘the harvest’. Whatever that means. Considering America probably called dibs on this holiday first, we might as well have chosen the same day to celebrate. Well, this weekend I decided to make pumpkin pies, after the great reviews they received when I made one last year at Halloween. I’m not a lover of pumpkin or any squash-like-object in general, but there are some key ingredients to include that I promise will make any self-described pumpkin-hater eat their words. And this pie.

Here’s the best recipe I’ve found online (here it is on Food.com):

BEST EVER PUMPKIN PIE

1 3/4 cups canned pumpkin
1 3/4 cups sweetened condensed milk
2 large eggs, beaten
2/3 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
2 tablespoons sugar
1 1/4 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
9 inches pie shells, unbaked

Directions:

1. Combine pumpkin and remaining ingredients in a large bowl; beat at medium speed with an electric mixer 2 minutes.
2. Pour into prepared piecrust.
3. Bake at 425 degrees for 15 minutes.
4. Reduce heat to 350 degrees; bake 50 additional minutes or until a knife inserted in center comes out clean.
5. Cool on a wire rack.

While the cornucopia of spices is what really makes this pie awesome, the two key ingredients to making the most lovable pumpkin pie ever are brown sugar and sweetened condensed milk. Without those, you get a more ‘pumpkiny’ flavor, which is what pumpkin-haters (naturally) dislike about it. But now you get a sweeter, fuller taste that masks the strong squash, and is much more palatable. And, as you can see from the recipe, there is a veritable buttload of sugar in this pie. If you are watching your weight–or your health–you may want to avoid this one.

Watch out for my tears while I pour in the condensed milk. As per a previous post, I love this stuff by itself, and I naturally took a tiny spoon to the can after I was done with this.

If you’re wondering why it looks like there’s a lot of ingredient here, you’re right. I doubled the recipe to make two pies. I added a little extra nutmeg, too. I even ground the cloves by hand, like a champ! (ie. Wax paper, a rolling pin and a hammer. These have nothing to do with that rolled up carpet in the basement…P.S. I’ll be leaving the country for a while)

Voila! The finished product. Uh, 3/4 of a pie. I forgot to take a picture of it until we’d already eaten a good chunk.

Unlike some of my earlier posts, you should try this at home. Feed it to a self-proclaimed pumpkin-pie-hater. They’ll be thanking you later.

**Edit: No, I didn’t make my own crust for this pie, as I didn’t have time this weekend–but even in a pre-made crust it’s still delicious. It’s the filling that counts! Feel free to use a store bought crust or make your own.**

